

Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019 Miltenberg, September 23 - 25, 2019

Call for Papers

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V.

President: Ludger Klinkenbusch Secretary: Eckard Bogenfeld

Program Committee:

Chair: Uwe Siart

Head of Award Committee: Alexander Kraus

Commissions: Thorsten Schrader (A) Thomas Eibert (B) Jens Anders (C) Dirk Killat (D) Frank Gronwald (E) Madhu Chandra (F) Ralph Latteck (G) Gottfried Mann (H) Alexander Kraus (J) Lars Ole Fichte (K) The Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019, organized by the Landesausschuss in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V., will be held September 23 - 25, 2019 in Miltenberg, Germany, at the Ancient Townhall (Altes Rathaus). Conference languages are English and German.

Topics:

The list of topics corresponds to the Commissions of the U.R.S.I.:

- A: Electromagnetic Metrology
- B: Fields and Waves
- C: Radio Communication Systems and Signal Processing
- D: Electronics and Photonics
- E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
- F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
- G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
- H: Waves in Plasmas
- J: Radio Astronomy
- K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

Regular Contributions (Oral):

Authors are asked to submit regular contributions by **July 12, 2019** via <u>https://edas.info/26182</u>. Required fields are: title, author(s), abstract (in English or German; text only; no more than 500 words; no figures, equations, etc.) as well as the Commission connected to the topic of the contribution. Acceptance notification will be sent by **July 24, 2019**.

This year, we are glad to announce that in addition to the regular contribution authors may submit a conference paper (2-4 pages, IEEE conference proceedings style) via https://edas.info/26182 until **September 29, 2019** at the latest. After usual peer review this paper will be published on IEEE Xplore shortly after the event, provided that the conference presentation was actually given.

Young Scientist Awards:

Scientists born 1984 or later are invited to participate at the Young Scientist Award Program of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019. Applications and supporting materials are to be submitted by **June 24, 2019** via <u>https://edas.info/26182</u>, in the corresponding category. Details can be found on page two of this 'Call for Papers.'

Further Information:

Additional information about the conference site, accommodation, the conference program, and registration is given on the conference website <u>www.kh2019.de</u>.

<u>Contact person</u> (on behalf of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der BRD): Dr.-Ing. Uwe Siart,

Chair of High-Frequency Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Technical University of Munich, E-Mail: <u>kh2019@hft.ei.tum.de</u>

Important Dates:

Until June 24, 2019:Submission of materials for the Young Scientist AwardUntil July 12, 2019:Submission of regular contributions (required)Until August 30, 2019:Pre-registration at reduced conference feeSeptember 23 - 25, 2019:Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019Until September 29, 2019:Submission of conference papers (optional)



Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale

International Union of Radio Science



Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards on the Occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019

As part of our continuing commitment to supporting the next generation of up and coming researchers, we will present up to 15 scholars with the *Young Scientist Award* and three with the *Young Scientist Best Paper Award* during the course of the conference.

The selection of Young Scientist Awards (YSA) recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented works will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a

Prize money in the amount of 300 €.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within the scope of the regular conference program. Moreover, they are invited to present their works at a special YSA Poster Session. At that the posters are going to be assessed and rated by an Award Committee. The top three works will be awarded a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA). In addition to a certificate, the recipients will receive

1000 €	(1 st Prize),
750 €	(2 nd Prize), and
500 €	(3 rd Prize).

All YSA und YS-BPA recipients will be honored at a solemn awards ceremony during the closing event of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019.

Terms of Eligibility

Scientists born 1984 or later holding a Diploma or Master degree at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, to be written in German or English, are to be submitted via <u>https://edas.info/26182</u> under the category "Young Scientist Award" by no later than **June 24, 2019**:

- a) Extended Abstract (3 pages plus bibliography; IEEE Manuscript Template for Conference Proceedings, download at <u>https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html</u>)
- b) Supplementary documentation (one pdf file), consisting of
 - Curriculum vitae and
 - One letter of recommendation (1 page maximum) from a scholarly person (e.g., the Ph.D. advisor) or a Member of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der BRD.

All applicants will be notified by August 15, 2019.

Inquires are to be directed to the Head of the Award Committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - Radio Observatory Effelsberg -, Max-Planck-Straße 28, 53902 Bad Münstereifel-Effelsberg, Germany, at <u>akraus@mpifr-bonn.mpq.de</u>.

International Union of Radio Science