Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale
International Union of Radio Science
Kleinheubacher Tagung 2019
U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland e.V.
Miltenberg | 23.–25.09.2019

Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards

As part of the Kleinheubacher Tagung, there will be a programme to promote and support young scientists by awarding up to 15 Young Scientist Awards and 3 Young Scientist Best Paper Awards.

The winners of a Young Scientist Award (YSA) will be determined on the basis of the documentation submitted. The criteria according to which the work submitted is assessed include originality, creativity, form, and clarity. The winner(s) receive a certificate, free conference attendance, and a prize of €300.

All winners of a YSA must give a paper as part of the regular conference programme. In addition, they are invited to present their work at a special YSA poster session. The posters are assessed and judged by a selection committee. The best three will be given a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA), and the winners receive a certificate and the following prizes: €1000 (first place), €750 (second place), and €500 (third place).

All YSA and YS-BPA winners will be officially recognised during the closing event of the Kleinheubacher Tagung.

Eligibility criteria

Scientists born in or after 1984 who hold at least a diploma or master’s degree are eligible to apply. The following documents, in German or English, must be submitted via https://edas.info/26182 by 24 June 2019 under the category "Young Scientist Award":

  1. an extended abstract (3 pages plus references, IEEE template for conference proceedings, downloadable at https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html)
  2. additional documentation (in a single PDF) consisting of
    • CV (résumé)
    • Supporting letter (at most one page) by a lecturer (for example, PhD supervisor) or by a member of the German URSI Landesausschuss.

All participants are informed of the outcome of their application by 15 August 2019.

Enquiries may be directed to the head of the award committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Radio Telescope Effelsberg: https://www.mpifr-bonn.mpg.de/person/27688/2163